Frequently Asked Questions

Here you will find answers to the most frequently asked questions, select from the below category dropdown.

I have a severe allergy, how do I know if I can consume your products?

Mondelēz International is aware of the seriousness of allergens, and takes great care in making sure its products are safe, wholesome and properly labeled.

Our products are produced and labeled in compliance with the FDA labeling requirements. When labeling products, we consider - and label for - all possible sources of the 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA. These are eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts and wheat. In addition to the above 8 FDA allergens, Mondelēz International also tracks lupin, mollusks, and sesame seeds. For each product, we thoroughly review all ingredients, including ingredient components and processing aids, and the production process, to determine whether there are may be any of the above 11 allergens present in the product.

Mondelēz International also labels for some additional allergens or substances that can cause sensitivity or intolerance in levels over 10 ppm, such as celery, mustard, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, cottonseed, sources of gluten other than wheat, and sulfites. If any of these substances are directly added to the product, they will be listed in the Ingredient Statement.

Do you use dedicated lines to manufacture your products?

No we do not have dedicated lines for all our products.

We take special precautions to thoroughly clean and sanitize all our production lines between product changeovers on a line. We build these cleaning procedures into our safety systems to make sure there is no carryover from allergens; for example when switching from nut-containing products to ones without nuts.

If there is any risk of cross contamination we will label the allergen in the “manufactured on equipment that processes."

Why are your products not made in the United States?

Across North America, we have several facilities that manufacture our great products. Be assured that regardless of origin, all ingredients used in our products comply with our rigorous food safety standards, which meet and in many cases exceed governmental food safety requirements.’

Are HALLS products recommended for children?

HALLS products are intended for use by children 5 years and over (except HALLS DEFENSE, which are intended for adults). For children less than 5 years old, please consult your doctor.

What color is Oreo: black or brown?

We do not have a color assigned to the cookie portion of an OREO. Some people think the OREO is a shade of brown, while others view the color closer to black.

Are Mondelēz products Halal Certified?

Halal Certification will depend on the country you live in, our brands are not Halal Certified in the US or Canada, always check the ingredients and the label to guarantee the suitability for your diet.